The St. Lucia Football Association came into being in 1979.  Prior to this the organization operated as the National Football Union.  The Association is affiliated to the Federation Internationale De Football Association (FIFA) The Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) and the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).  The St. Lucia Football Association is also aligned to the Windward Islands Football Association (WIPA).  WIPA operates as a sub-grouping of the Caribbean Football Union.

The St. Lucia Football Association first became a member of CONCACAF in 1986 and subsequently in 1988, two years later became a member of FIFA.

Since its formation in 1979, the Association has had five presidents, Earl Huntley (1979-1994) Mark Louis (1994-2004) Oswald Wilkinson Larcher (2004-2007), Patrick Mathurin (2007-2011) and Lyndon Cooper (2011-).

The Association is the duly recognized body by FIFA which is responsible for organizing, promoting and developing association football in St. Lucia.

The Association currently has 19 affiliates.  Affiliates of the Association are based on geographical location and are all leagues which must consist of six or more clubs.  The following are the Affiliates:

  1. Gros Is Let Football League
  2. Babonneau Football League
  3. La CLeryFootbal League
  4. Castries Football Council
  5. Marchand Football League
  6. South Castries Football League
  7. Mabouya Football League
  8. Dennery Football League
  9. Mon Repos Football League
  10. Micoud Football League
  11. Desruisseau Football League
  12. Vieux Fort North Football League
  13. Vieux Fort South Football League
  14. Laborie Football League
  15. Choiseul Football League
  16. Soufriere Football League
  17. Canaries Football League
  18. Anse La Raye Football League
  19. Roseau Football League

Annually the Association organizes national senior, Under 23, Under 18 and Under 15 competitions  for males.  Women competitions are organized at the senior and junior levels.  These competitions are all based on an inter-district format (league versus league).  The Association also organizes a club championship competition with the top two clubs from each league participating.

Administratively, the St. Lucia Football Associations functions with a National Executive Body which is headed by the President.  The President is assisted by the 1st and 2nd Vice President who are elected by the Congress every four years.  This is supplemented by four zonal vice presidents.  For administrative purposes, the island has been divided into four zones with each zone having its own executive.  The president of each zone is a vice president of the Association.

The Secretariat, which is taxed with the day to day running of the organization is headed by the General Secretary who is appointed by the National Executive Body.

The supreme decision making body of the Association is the Congress which is held every year.

Over the years the Association has provided both financial and technical support to all its affiliates.  Additionally, developmental programmes are held regularly for coaches, match officials and league executive members.

Currently, the Association is headquartered at Barnard Hill, Castries, St. Lucia.